What do you eat?

We get asked this question quite often about life in Tanzania. So we thought we’d give you a taster (unfortunately not a real taster!) of some of what we ate in January.

Breakfast for me (Rebekah) is usually this: oats, milk, yoghurt, maybe chia seeds and raisins if we have them, and fruit (here banana and passion fruit). Roman is extremely “creative” with his breakfast bowl … we can include that another time! (The yoghurt we make at home, from milk that we pasteurise ourselves – see this post from my old blog.)

Lunch for me is often bread with eggs and vegetables:

When I bake bread, I usually make a few loaves at a time:

When Roman is working at the office, he sometimes has something like this for lunch: meat (or fish) with rice, and side dishes (here beans and greens). This day had the exciting addition of lemonade!

Our evening meals vary, depending on time and energy! A few from January are: vegetable pasta bake; bean and vegetable filled wraps (then baked in the oven); wraps with falafel, veg and salsa; and chickpea curry.

I realise that I didn’t photograph any of the meals that Roman cooked … that will have to wait until next time!

What are some of your go-to meals?

Leave a comment